I Am My Own Kinda Parent

Okay, so it’s been 3 weeks (holy smokes) since my last blog post.  That’s a long time, relatively speaking, for me.  But seriously, folks, it feels more like a week.  Where is the time going?  Why does it seem time is passing by so fast?  We are in July already.  It will be the end of summer soon at the rate we are going.  And yet it feels like it just started.  From the mouth of a summer lover.  Heat and all.  I love summer!

I haven’t posted not because I haven’t had any inspiration, but because I just haven’t had the time.  June 18th was my birthday, and that’s the date of my last post.  For weeks leading up to June 23rd, I studied for a standardized exam that I had to take for my job….and boy, do I hate standardized exams.  I passed that, and then I’ve been busy sorting through the piles of stuff that have accumulated over the past 7 years….since before my daughter was born and before I dove head first into writing my book.  I’ve been putting it off and putting it off….and now I can’t put it off any longer.  I need to convert the 3rd bedroom from storage room to actual bedroom once and for all!  And I need to do that before month end!

Yesterday, I stumbled across a blog post written by Jill Smokler (author of the Scary Mommy blog and the book, Confessions of a Scary Mommy) on HuffPost Parents titled “What Kind of Parent are You?”  Needless to say, given all the parenting feuds that have been going on of late, that title grabbed my attention.  I knew I had to write a blog post about this.

It was a short blog post, but there was plenty to get my thoughts flowing on what to write.  What kind of parent AM I?  Well, first of all, I am my own kinda parent.  I don’t care what other people call themselves or how they categorize their parenting styles.  I’m not in a competition, after all.

I parent the way I parent, and I don’t care how this compares with other parents and their parenting styles.  The less we try to compare among ourselves, the less likely we will feel bad about not meeting up to so-called “societal standards,” the less we will feel guilt and all that negativity that can eat away at a mom that is already suffering, or on their way to suffering, from postpartum depression (PPD).

What has also given me inspiration for this post are some recent pins I stumbled across on Pinterest.  Yep, I’ve fallen under the spell of yet another social media tool.  It is very addicting.  But in this, my first, week of pinning, I’ve found it very calming.  I guess it’s because you see words in pictures that affirm what is deep in your thoughts and now you can “pin” on your own personal board, letting that be your outlet.

Here’s one that is relevant to this post….about people respecting each others’ choices (from Sketch42Blog.com):

*  *  *  *  *  *  *

Anyway, here goes….

I was a breastfeeding-challenged mom who did the best I could to give my daughter breast milk for 1-1/2 months before having to go on an antidepressant for insomnia, panic attacks and complete debilitation thanks to PPD.  After surviving PPD and failure at breastfeeding, I’m highly sensitive to the judgmental remarks made by others who have not suffered from PPD or had breastfeeding issues.   Not sensitive as hurt my feelings sensitive, but grate on my nerves sensitive.  To the moms who ever so readily attack others for supposedly not trying hard enough or being selfish/lazy, think before you criticize.  Like the pin up above says, you have NO idea what others are going through.  I’m not going to defend my failure other than to say that, if you had to endure what I endured with my emergency partial hysterectomy and all that followed (previously blogged about and now detailed in my book), you just might understand.

I was a co-sleeper failure, having had to let my daughter start sleep in her own crib in her own room far sooner than I had originally planned.  I’ve shared this before on my blog (and now in my book) that it was due to my alarming insomnia that we had to do this, as I would wake up at every single sound my daughter made through the night (which was very frequent).  And it didn’t help that she couldn’t sleep flat for the first whole month of her existence.  She was most comfortable sleeping in her little car seat that sort of made her feel like she were still curled up in my womb.

I am a didn’t-know-any-better-at-the-time mom who let my daughter’s eczema and cradle cap get out of hand. I did the best I could with the information I was given by the pediatrician until she finally suggested we see an actual dermatologist, so I don’t blame myself that my daughter’s skin got so bad so quick.  I have genetics to blame as well. But what counts is that we finally found a remedy and my daughter’s hair finally grew back in….and what a relief.   We continue to do battle against her eczema/dry skin today.  As with other aspects of motherhood (and parenthood, in general), dealing with my daughter’s skin issues has been a learn-as-you-go experience.

I am a lover of social media that is trying hard to spend less time on Facebook, Twitter, my blog, and now Pinterest.  So far, I’ve only been successful when it comes to Twitter.  If I lose followers, I lose followers (though I do hope my friends on Twitter understand). I know where my priorities lay and what I can manage each day with my full-time job and trying to squeeze time in for my daughter before she goes to bed each night.  I blog on average once a week and only late at night after my daughter goes to bed.  That leaves Facebook and Pinterest.  I believe the novelty of Pinterest will wear off in a few weeks (I hope). But Facebook is one way I stay in touch with my friends around the globe, so it is absolutely a part of my daily routine.

I am a return-to-work-when-maternity-leave-is-up mom who, until my daughter was born, had already worked nearly 2 decades and admittedly thrives on the constant deadlines, demands, multi-tasking, interactions with co-workers, and the stimulating analytical, documentation, and customer service challenges at work each day.  Faced with the reality that one salary wasn’t going to support the three of us, I had to return to work when my daughter was but three months old.  This is a reality that many moms are faced with.  Leaving your baby/ies is a very difficult transition–and one that is not guilt-free– to make.

I am a daily NYC commuter, which means that I’m NEVER able to volunteer at school….not unless I take a day off from work (or work remotely, which is frowned upon unless I have a “real” reason like a doctor’s appointment in the middle of the day, sick daughter, or lack of back-up care).  This also means that the people in my ‘hood think I’m anti-social.  They haven’t come right out and said it, but their not inviting us to get-togethers lately (we used to all get together throughout the year) is a clear indication that we don’t really fit in even though we do try where time and situations permit. <Here’s where the Sesame Street song “One of these things is not like the other” comes to mind>

I am a lousy cook.  I like playing the role of sous chef, cutting up vegetables and meat, but I’m a lousy cook (because I really don’t care for it). My husband and I make a great sous chef/chef team.

I am a lousy creative player, but good at playing games and coloring…..the only activities with which I’m comfortable because they are what I grew up with.  Thank goodness my husband makes up for my lack of creativity!!!

I am a disorganized person at home, but strangely enough a highly organized one at work.  I don’t even make my bed each day…only when company comes over.

I am a good homework helper, especially when it comes to writing, spelling and grammar (which helped my book-writing tremendously).  I certainly didn’t have any help with that when growing up because my parents’ native language is Mandarin Chinese….which is why I am fluent in speaking Mandarin Chinese.  I’m pleased to have a positive impact on my daughter (see photo below).

I am a good chauffeur and provider of encouragement in terms of activities, even though my daughter would rather stay home like daddy.  I tell her that I don’t want her to grow up like I did with zero activities.  Activities are important in building a child’s self esteem.  She is not a team sports player that I hoped she would be, despite all the encouragement in the world.  I wasn’t one either, and I had wanted things to work out differently for her.  But there is only so much prodding one can do.  Forcing the issue will only serve to traumatize her.  I wasn’t going to do that because I remember all too well what it was like being forced to play piano for 4 years.  Ugh.

I am a determined playdate coordinator.  I do my best to help my daughter stay in touch with her friends from her former school, which is hard because they don’t live in the same town and the only time my daughter can have a playdate is during weekends, which is when most families try to do things together rather than have playdates like other moms can arrange during the week.  I am determined to keep them in touch because of my own nomadic experience all throughout childhood and having to make a new set of friends nearly every year until third grade.  I made friends then but lost them all when I moved four years later.  And forget about high school.  Making friends from scratch in a junior high school where I was the only Chinese girl (and a shy one who was self conscious about her looks and lack of wardrobe) out of 350 students in my class was a complete and utter joke.

I am a dedicated book reader to my daughter, seldom missing a night since my daughter was an infant.  I also didn’t have this when growing up, and subsequently, I don’t care too much for books (I know, blasphemy).  And this coming from a book author!

I am an empathic provider of emotional support when my daughter is distressed about something. I didn’t grow up with parents who were particularly empathetic or patient with my fiery temperament (and thanks to pubescent hormones), so my mission is to support my daughter 100%.  Though, I have to say I am completely dreading her teenage years!

I am a good schedule keeper, always making sure my daughter and I get up 1-1/2 hours before any weekend activities, including Chinese school, ballet, and swimming.  That gives us time to eat breakfast (and she’s a very slow eater) and get some TV or playtime in before leaving home.  Transitioning environments has always been somewhat of a challenge for our daughter, but thankfully, she is getting better about it as she gets older!

I am a good outfit coordinator, given budget limitations.  I’d like to think I have a good sense of style.  My daughter doesn’t have a dress on everyday like some girls in school, but that’s okay.  As long as she doesn’t deal with the conditions I grew up with (i.e., rotating among 5 outfits to wear each week in HIGH SCHOOL and having to deal with kids who don’t want to be friends with me because I don’t dress well and wasn’t the most well groomed girl in school), I am satisfied.

*  *  *  *  *  *  *

I used to care what other people think of me to the point that I felt pretty bad about myself.  Having survived PPD and having my daughter have put things into perspective way more than anything else has ever done before.  Now, my goal is to provide a good life for my daughter.  In order for me and my husband to do that, we try to do the best we can as parents to her.

Make sure she is healthy and happy.

Nurture her.

Be there for her.

Love her.

Who cares what anyone else has to think or say about my parenting style.  Period.

3 thoughts on “I Am My Own Kinda Parent

    • Hi Kelly,
      Thanks so much for visiting my blog and leaving a comment (and glad you like this particular post of mine)! :) I just left you a comment over at yours. As I mentioned in my comment, I hope you will soon be seeing an end to your PPD. Thank you for bravely sharing your own PPD experience with others. If you ever need to correspond with me via email or phone, just let me know. I will share my contact info with you.

Leave a Reply

