Upcoming PPD Awareness Events

With Maternal Mental Health Awareness Month just a few days away, there are a number of postpartum depression awareness events coming up.  The purpose of today’s post is to highlight three of the events occurring in the next two months.  In the order in which they will occur, they are:

Shining a Light on Postpartum Depression: The Role of Programs, Policy and Public Health – A Community Forum

When:  Thursday, May 29, 2014 from 7:00 pm to 9:00 pm (EST)

Where: Congregation Beth Elohim, 271 Garfield Place, Brooklyn, NY 11215

Theme:  A dialogue on what role the city and state can play in education, screening and treatment of PPD

Presented by: Brooklyn Community Board 6 Youth, Human Service and Education Committee, State Senator Liz Krueger, State Senator Velmanette Montgomery, State Assembly Member Joan Millman, Council Member Brad Lander, and Council Member Stephen Levin

Moderated by: Rain Henderson, Deputy Director, Clinton Health Matters Initiative at Clinton Foundation

2 Panel Discussions:

  1. First panel to focus on clinical symptoms associated with PPD and resources for women and their families.  Panel members to include the amazing Sonia Murdoch, Executive Director, The Postpartum Resource Center of NYRebecca Benghiat, Executive Director, Seleni Institute, and Catherine Birndorf, MD, Clinical Associate Director of Psychiatry and Obstetrics/Gynecology  and founding director of the Payne Whitney Women’s Program at the New York Presbyterian  Hospital – Weill Cornell Medical Center
  2. Second panel to focus on what role the city and state can play in education, screening and treatment of PPD.  Panel members to include New York State Senator Liz Krueger, New York City Councilman Stephen Levin, and New York City Councilwoman Laurie Cumbo (NYC Council Women’s Issues Committee Chair).

For more information on this event, click here and/or contact the event organizer, Paige Bellenbaum at p.bellenbaum@ccgbrooklyn.com or 646-228-2381.

27th Annual Postpartum Support International Conference

When:  June 18 – 21, 2014

Where:  University of North Carolina Center for Women’s Mood Disorders, Chapel Hill

Theme:  Creating Connections between Communities, Practitioners, and Science:  Innovative Care for Perinatal Mood Disorders

Sadly, I will not be able to make it this year.  I will miss seeing so many of my friends.  :(  Please click here for my blog post about last year’s conference in Minneapolis and the wonderful time I had there.

For more information, including the agenda, presenters, and registration details, click here.

Climb Out of the Darkness 2014

When:  Saturday, June 21, 2014

Where:  Anywhere you choose to hike up a mountain, climb or walk.

Created byPostpartum Progress Inc., a registered 501c3 nonprofit organization that raises awareness and supports pregnant and new moms with maternal mental illness.

What is it?   It’s the world’s largest grassroots event raising awareness of perinatal mood disorders, in which people around the world hike, climb or walk outside on the longest day of the year (June 21st).

For more information and/or to register to participate, click here.   You can participate by joining a group climb or even start your own individual or group climb.

4 thoughts on “Upcoming PPD Awareness Events

  1. After Katherine Stone encouraged me to go for it, I created the Felton, California “Climb Out of the Darkness 2014″ event. I’ve raised almost $100 since Saturday! My two little girls gave me the contents of their piggy banks, and my husband contributed $ too.

    I asked Katherine to please consider including my specific postpartum mood disorder to the list on the Postpartum Progress Climb page. I have postpartum bipolar disorder (PPBD) and hardly anyone knows about this devastating postpartum illness. To my delight, Katherine agreed to include PPBD, and that served as a wonderful affirmation for my walk this June 21st.

    I would love to attend the PSI conference when it’s closer to California – that’s great, Ivy, that you attended last year. I want to read your post about that experience! Thanks for another excellent post here – you have a rockin’ blog! :))))

    • Hi again! Thanks for stopping by, reading my post, and leaving a comment again! I think it’s great you are doing the climb! What’s the difference between PPBD and PPP? Thank you also for the sweet words of support for my blog….I try. :) Hope to meet you some day!

      • Good morning Ivy! Thanks for your encouragement about the climb! :)))) I love your writing and I’m so glad I found you/your blog. To answer your question, PPBD/ postpartum bipolar disorder has the primary symptoms of “classic bipolar” but the onset happens at childbirth – one experiences acute mania and depression cycles (or depression and then mania) connected with childbirth-related events (sleep deprivation, hormones and more) and sometimes also genetic predisposition. My Dad had bipolar disorder. I did not have postpartum depression after my daughter was born, but postpartum mania – the depression came later. Postpartum depression/PPD is a separate DSM category (Diagnostic and Statistic Manual used by psychiatrists to diagnose patients) without any manic or hypomanic features as far as I know. I am still researching this topic and other postpartum topics in the medical literature. It’s complicated, to say the least! Anyway, thanks for asking about it. It means a lot to me and I’ll definitely keep coming back to your blog. take care, Ivy! p.s sorry this is rushed – I have to get the girls to school – always a challenge!

        • Oh thanks for the info, Dyane! I have most of the various PMDs documented in my book (which Jane Honickman wrote the Preface for and Wendy Davis wrote a lovely blurb for) and I’ve written about on my blog over the years (at a high level), so have familiarity. I think from the time I first wrote about PPP, nomenclature might have changed to where we now have a PPBD versus postpartum psychosis….

Leave a Reply

