Things to be thankful for……

Now that we are approaching Thanksgiving, I am more aware about the things for which I am thankful. 

  1. I am thankful for my husband’s continuous support in my book and blogging efforts (both of us hope to see the fruits of my labor on the former transition into a finished piece real soon!).
  2. I will be forever thankful for the miracle of our sweet little girl.
  3. I am thankful for the inspiration that my fellow PPD bloggers Katherine Stone, Lauren Hale, and Amber Koter Puline provide daily.
  4. I am thankful for my PPD experience (I kid you not), which has ignited a passion for advocacy and awareness.
  5. Last but far from least, I am thankful for the continued good health of my family members.  In the past couple of years, I have come to realize more than ever how fragile life truly is and how health should NEVER be taken for granted.  

Have a Happy Thanksgiving!

4 thoughts on “Things to be thankful for……

  1. that is so nice to hear. i heard that gratitude is such a great thing to have.
    i hope i one day too can be thankful for my PPD experience. that is very difficult to see right now…

    • Michelle,
      Thank you for visiting my blog and for posting your thoughts. In the midst of my PPD, I kept thinking to myself “Why me? Why can’t I be one of the mothers you see that are happy and taking to motherhood with no issues whatsoever?” When I came out of my PPD fog, I realized I’m not the only one who didn’t know about PPD and what to look out for BEFORE the baby came along that would’ve made a HUGE difference. My anger at the ignorance and the stigma overrode the “Why me” attitude, and I decided I wanted to make a difference. I am trying to take a painful experience and educate others so they don’t have to suffer the way I did from not knowing. I am grateful for my eyes being opened. In the past decade I have taken all experiences–good and bad–and learned from them and appreciated them. Back when I hated life as a teenager, if someone had told me that down the road I would actually be grateful for having gone through what I’d gone through, I would’ve laughed right in their face. I would not have taken it well at all.

      I hope that once you’re out of your PPD fog, you will feel similarly as I do.

      All the best,
      Ivy

Leave a Reply

