The MOTHERS Act passes in Senate version of Healthcare Reform!

Yes, that’s right, the MOTHERS Act has been successfully included and passed in the Senate version of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act–otherwise known as the Senate version of Healthcare Reform–thanks to the efforts of U.S. Senator Robert Menendez!  

And what better news to hear in the beginning of a New Year (and a new decade to boot)!

We are closer than ever before to our goal of spreading awareness of and better understanding and protecting against postpartum mood disorders that can have all too many negative–and sometimes tragic–consequences on the mother, partner and baby.

For more information about the bill and what is ahead to make it officially a part of U.S. legislation, please check out Susan Stone’s latest blog post.

If you haven’t done so already, please add your name to the petition !  I have faith that this bill will pass.  So many people are counting on it!

4 thoughts on “The MOTHERS Act passes in Senate version of Healthcare Reform!

  1. Ohhh…I’m not really sure Ivy. It is definitly something that I will have to look into.
    A few days after I delivered my son, I had a nurse from our Public Health Unit come to the house to address any issues and questions we had. She also asked me a set of questions that I believe (I really cannot remember) was a screen for PPD. At the time, she said that I was going through the baby blues and if it persisted than I needed to seek help from my OB/GYN.
    Then we also had another appointment at a Well Baby, Well Mommy clinic where they re-asked those questions. Again, I was told I was having the baby blues.
    But when I was pregnant, PPD was never mentioned at my OB/GYN appointments.
    I do have to say that I think that if I was aware of PPD and they symptoms and that I had A LOT of the risk factors, maybe I would have been more prepared. You know, like setting up support systems and so on.
    Our Public Health Unit is working on a PPD support group..FINALLY…of which I hope I can be a part of when I am well. It is a phone based support group in which Mom’s with PPD or at risk of PPD can call Mom’s who survived PPD and ask for help, talk, so on….I think it’s wonderful. I can’t wait to be better so I can help out other Mom’s.
    Thanks for getting my noggin turning. I’ll have to really look into this.

    • Canada and the UK are similar with respect to having nurses make house visits to moms after childbirth, which is great. I know that will never happen in this country, unfortunately. If the screening occurred within the first 10 days postpartum, then yes, the likelihood is you’re having the blues. Did any of the screens occur after the 1st 10 days? It’s a global issue that there needs to be more awareness about PPD. Pregnant moms should know about PPD and how to recognize when they should seek help. There should be more postpartum and PPD support groups in all countries. Glad to hear your Public Health Unit is establishing a PPD support group! And I think it’s great you are considering volunteering! You are already blogging, so you are already out there trying to educate others, and that’s a brilliant first step!

      How are you feeling, by the way?

    • Yes, it is indeed AWESOME! Correct me if I’m wrong, but I think the US is definitely worse off than Canada in terms of the lack of focus on women’s health issues and social support provided to new mothers and recognition of perinatal mood disorders.

Leave a Reply

