Happy Second Birthday!

Wow, it’s been two years since I started up my blog (which was technically on February 6, 2009)….and a second post in the same day!   I think that’s a record! 

I sincerely hope that I have helped at least some of the visitors–whether it be for a perinatal mood disorder and/or infertility reasons– to this blog during the past year.  And I sincerely hope to continue helping more this next year!   And many thanks to all who have visited my blog and taken the time to comment!

To those with whom I used to correspond more regularly, I’m sorry I’ve been keeping to myself the past 6 months or so.  I used to visit your blogs and even chat with you on Twitter, but I’ve been soooo busy with things at home, at work, my manuscript and even just keeping up with my weekly blogging.  Once my manuscript is in the publication stage, which I anticipate to be within the next 1-2 months, I will be back in touch. 

Just a side note….something that I’ve noticed and can’t quite help.  All my life I have not been a fan of cliques.  Sometimes, and it may very well be simply the unintended result of the situation at hand–i.e., I’ve been out of touch and it takes two to tango–I feel like I’m an outsider looking (and trying to get) in, especially seeing people in the midst of “chatting” on Twitter.   I don’t get comments or even visits from the folks I know anymore.  Again, that’s partly my fault, but right now, I can’t help but flash back to my high school days where lil miss unpopular is trying to fit in but can’t.    😦

We’ll see if that continues to be the case once I get back in the swing of Twitter and the good ol blogosphere!   But then again, my original intent was to be a PPD advocate to help spread awareness and combat stigma, not to see if I could be part of any cliques or to be miss popular or anything…..

And with that, I would like to wish my blog a happy second birthday!

4 thoughts on “Happy Second Birthday!

  1. Ivy, Happy 2nd Blog Birthday!! I know I’ve told you this before, but your blog was a HUGE life saver for me last year. It’s how I “met” Grace and Kimberly, and all the other mom/ppd bloggers that I follow regularly now. This is a wonderful work you’re doing here!! The fact that you help mom’s who are in such a dark place know that they’re not alone, that is worth more than any Twitter “clique”. Don’t let that get you down..sounds like you have plenty on your plate!
    Hugs!! Your friend, Julie

    • Thanks, Julie! Again, I’m so very glad I was able to help you! There are many blogs out there now that talk about PPD and the fact that you still follow mine makes me feel all the more happy. Having to stay in touch with all the others would be another job that I just can’t manage with all that’s on my plate right now. Plus, I’m not very good with “groups” or “cliques” which Kimberly, Grace, Miranda, and a few others all seem to be a part of. And they are all part of huge mommy networks that have helped them grow their readership. I hope to be better at all that after my ‘script is out of the way (as long as I don’t let my own fear of cliques get in the way)! I promise to visit your blog more often!
      Your friend,
      Ivy

Leave a Reply

