A Poem to My Daughter As She Turns Seven

After my daughter fell asleep this evening, as I stood there looking at her sleeping so peacefully, I felt the urge to write a poem.
*  *  *  *  *  *  *

My dear daughter,

On the eve of your seventh birthday
As you lay sleeping with koala cuddled close
With a content and peaceful smile on your face
Such a feeling of love washes over me

I reflect back on my journey to motherhood
And how blessed I am to have you in my life
Tomorrow you turn seven
How is it you have grown so quickly?

My mind takes me forward in time
And I try to imagine what you will be like
In just a few years you will be a teenager
Gulp, am I going to be ready for that?

I pray you will have an easier time than I did
In school, with friends, and in life, in general
Daddy and I will make sure we are there
For you each step of the way

No matter what happens, I pray
That you and I will stay close through the years
No matter what happens, I want you to know
That I love you very much.

Love,
Mommy ♥

 

 

Leave a Reply

