If Only I Had Known…..

So, if you haven’t noticed, I’ve been somewhat absent from the blogging scene…it’s been 3 weeks since my last post, the longest break from blogging I’ve taken in a long time. I have to admit I’ve been dry on ideas lately, not to mention the fact that I’m finding it tough to be back on the Twitter scene AND keeping up with my blog AND working full-time AND all the other stuff that needs to be done like spending time with my daughter, helping her with daily homework, etc.

I finally came across a tweet today from Mindy Berkson (@infertilityhope on Twitter) that said:

Did you know that adhesions can lead to #infertility or increase the chance of an ectopic #pregnancy? goo.gl/PmDdA

This tweet IMMEDIATELY grabbed my attention.  Why? Well, as some of you already know, I had had a dermoid cyst that was growing on one of my ovaries removed back in 2001, I had an ectopic pregnancy less than 2 years later, and I had to undergo two IVF cycles.

The link takes you to an article posted on the Resolve website, a great resource for those who are struggling with infertility.  Titled “Pelvic Adhesions: Impact on Your Fertility,” the article provides an overview of what adhesions are, what causes them, how they can be removed, as well as a reminder to stay well informed by asking questions prior to surgery, like whether the doctor will be employing such procedures as microsurgery or adhesion barriers to minimize the risk of adhesion formation.

Adhesions are basically scar tissue that typically forms as a result of surgical procedures. Pelvic adhesions is scar tissue that typically develops after pelvic surgery (to remove fibroids in the uterus, cysts on the ovary, ectopic pregnancies in the fallopian tube, or endometriosis).

Had I known all this (and that there were procedures that could minimize risk of adhesions), you bet I would’ve requested my OB/GYN employ one of the procedures to minimize the risk of adhesion formation, which may have or may not have led to IVF.  Or I may not even have gone through with the dermoid cyst removal altogether.  I will never know which was the lesser of two evils–leaving the dermoid cyst on the ovary or the adhesions from removing the dermoid cyst. I will never know whether leaving the dermoid cyst on the ovary would’ve led to infertility. I will never know whether adhesions from the surgery led to my infertility. I will never know whether I was inherently infertile at that point in my life–with or without the dermoid cyst, with or without the surgery.

I just know that I did have a helluva journey to motherhood, one that was paved with infertility issues, childbirth complications, and postpartum depression–and hence the title of my book.  But let me tell you….I came out of it much stronger and smarter than before!  And now I am going to do as much as I can to bring awareness to others.  The awareness I never had and which could’ve made a huge difference for me.

2 thoughts on “If Only I Had Known…..

  1. You ARE strong, and powerful, and so incredibly brave to share all that you do, but more importantly your experience makes you who you are, and advocating and supporting others is a huge part of that. 🙂

    • Aw, thanks, Andrea! You’ve brought tears to my eyes for saying such kind words! I just want to hug you right now! And have I mentioned that I can’t wait to meet you in a few months?! 🙂

Leave a Reply

