New Children’s Book about Mommy’s Depression

I’m so excited about stumbling across this book titled “When My Mommy Cries” today via an article titled “There’s no one to blame: children’s book explains depression” in the Post-Standard.  Check out the article for more detailed information about the book, author, and upcoming book events.

Written by Crystal Godfrey LaPoint, it’s a book about a child living with depression…mommy’s depression, to be exact. The book comes with a CD that includes a recording of the book set to music, sheet music so young musicians or their parents can play the song themselves, and links to online mental health resources.  In the book, a little girl tries to understand her mommy’s sadness and the mommy reassuring her that it’s not her fault but it’s because of a condition called depression.  The mommy also reassures her child that she will always be there for her no matter what.  The age group this book is intended for children ages 6 to 12.

Crystal was inspired to write this book from her own experience both as a child of a depressed mother and a mother to 3 children while struggling with depression and anxiety. Thank you, Crystal, for publishing such a lovely book and joining the growing number of voices speaking up and breaking the silence that has existed around mental health.  We absolutely need to continue to hammer away the message that there is nothing to be ashamed about in terms of seeking help for depression.  It’s especially important to note that children of depressed parents are more likely to develop depression themselves.  In fact, this message is conveyed all throughout my own book.

9 thoughts on “New Children’s Book about Mommy’s Depression

  1. Pingback: Check out this great review… | Crystal Godfrey LaPoint

  2. I heard of this book ages ago but never got around to reading it. I’m not a mother but I have a niece and I’m a depression sufferer for many years and want to find my niece a book about it, but also one that deals with many depression-associated disorders like bipolar disorder, social anxiety disorder, asperger’s/autism spectrum, generalized anxiety disorder, ADD and ADHD (since depression rarely travels alone). Anyone know of children’s books that do this or should I seriously think of writing my own? My niece is only 4 years old but extremely intelligent and already has a keen sense that something is ‘off’ about her aunt. I really want to find a book for her that’ll help explain things.

    • Hi Shelly,
      Could you have this book confused with another? This book only came out this past January. Anyway, I think it’s great to get children to try to understand depression at an early age, esp. when they have a parent that is suffering from it. It can help a child understand that it’s not his/her fault. Awareness is critical in combating stigma, and the earlier the better. It certainly wouldn’t hurt to get another children’s book about mood disorders, autism, Asperger’s, and ADD/ADHD into circulation! We need more people speaking up about these illnesses!

      • Hello. 🙂 I don’t know, maybe it is possible I have this book mixed up with another. I did hear of a book about depression aimed at children but I can’t remember how long ago that was. I will have to check out your book but being that the title has ‘mommy’ in it, I hope it doesn’t confuse my niece! But then I’ll have to wait till she’s a bit older anyway to read it to her.

        If there’s ever a chance you’ll write another book about other mood disorders aimed at children, I hope you do it.

  3. Pingback: It is a blessing to see the book reaching so many lives!

Leave a Reply

