I’m a Bottle Baby and I Am……a Mother of a Bottle Baby and Proud of It

As I have mentioned quite often on my blog, surviving my postpartum depression (PPD) experience has had a transformational effect on me.

My experience has:
1.  Educated me on the stigma and ignorance that exist with respect to mental health issues (and maternal mental health issues, which are of particular importance to me) in this country….and throughout the world, for that matter.
2.  Educated me on our society’s trend in the wrong direction with respect to ensuring that new mothers get the care and nurturing they need in the first weeks after childbirth.
3.  Opened my eyes to the toxic societal trends in the form of motherhood myths that cause unnecessary anxiety and unnecessary feelings of guilt and shame.
4.  Instilled a desire to help other new moms suffering from PPD (and any moms just seeking non-judgmental emotional support).

Speaking of  toxic societal trends, there are quite a number of them, the latest of which has the Breast is ALWAYS the Best fanatics behind it….brings to mind the far-right views on abortion (no exceptions, even for rape or incest), but I won’t go into that here.  This fanatical thinking that breast is ALWAYS the best–despite congenital/neonatal issues, childbirth complications (like mine), needing to take PPD meds to recover in order to BE a mother to your baby (like me), and the list goes on–needs to cease and desist!

Year of the Dragon – 2012

When it comes to the mental well-being of a new mom, I am ever so mindful of the stigmas, ignorance, attitudes, beliefs, myths, etc. that have a toxic impact on a new mom.  The dragon in me comes out (picture me with fire coming out of my mouth) and  I get VERY IRRITATED by the things I come across– whether it be from discussions I overhear (or have with people), articles/posts/comments I read on the Internet, or hear in the news–that have to do with any toxic ways of thinking.  Hence, much of what I post are my reactions to the good and the bad–there is unfortunately more of the latter out there. 😦

In the past few months, I joined these two wonderful Facebook groups for moms:  The Fearless Formula Feeder and Bottle Babies (Brisbane, Australia).    I wish I had such resources when I was having trouble breastfeeding over 7 years ago!    The ladies who make up these two groups are truly amazing, and I respect them so much for their dedication in helping new moms and providing them with non-judgmental emotional support.  Together, they recently released this video titled “I’m a Bottle Baby and I Am…..” that I would like to share with you:

“[How] you fill your [baby’s] tummy is not as important as how you fill their heart, mind and spirit.”
– Bottle Babies

Amen!

I’m such a new member of these two groups that I missed the opportunity to contribute to this video.  Well, anyway, here’s a picture of both me and my daughter as examples of two healthy, bottle-fed individuals with good heads on our shoulders.  🙂

4 thoughts on “I’m a Bottle Baby and I Am……a Mother of a Bottle Baby and Proud of It

  1. I bottle fed and only recently declared myself guilt free for doing so. Now I just feel guilty that I let my toddler watch TV when I’m cooking or cleaning or doing normal house stuff. My mom tonight reminded me that my sibs and I were raised on formula and Sesame Street (turns out it was on twice a day for an hour each in the 70s/80s and we watched it for two hours a day!) and turned out OK so my son will, too. 🙂 I believe that new moms are “guilt sponges” and in this modern society there’s just so many darn things that we can find to feel guilty about, it’s overwhelming!

    What I really wanted to ask was (sorry, new to this blog, just saw it on FFF today) if you have written or would write a post for nurses on what they need to know about PPD or how they can advocate for a woman with PPD. Or a guide for how to help a friend with PPD or a husband’s guide for how to help a wife with PPD. Maybe you did all this before or maybe this is what your book is about, either way sorry, new here. I’m a nurse (though no longer in maternal/child health) and probably there are other nurses who read your page who would like to know how they can help or advocate for people like you. I also had a friend go through PPD who was quite withdrawn and I didn’t know what I could do for her (aside from kick her doctor in the crotch for not doing a thing to help her).

    Great site, great writing. Thanks for sharing on FFF!

    • Hi Andrea,
      Thank you so much for leaving your comment here. I really do appreciate all the various perspectives of those who visit my blog!

      It seems more than ever that moms are burdened with guilt about practically every facet of parenting (I love your term “guilt sponges!”), and I think that is such a terrible thing! We need to stop this negative momentum because it is not doing any mothers any good feeling this way! Instead of spending our times feeling shame and guilt, we should just be content knowing that are doing the best that we possibly can, without giving a hoot as to what other people have to say/think.

      I would love to write a post for you on what nurses need to know about PPD/how they can advocate for a women with PPD. Though, I do have sections in my book that cover all this. It might take some time, though, since what you are asking is covering quite a bit of ground that my book covers, so I need to condense for exactly what you are looking for. I think more than anything else, we need to make sure all maternity nurses are trained on how to recognize symptoms, be familiar with risk factors, and how to treat moms with PPD.

      Thanks for your supportive comments about my blog!
      Best,
      Ivy

  2. Easton and I are both bottle babies. Easton is also, dare I say, advanced. He has started preschool at 2 1/2 ,has never been on any type of antibiotics, never had an ear infection, and never had anything worse than the common cold. So..thank-you Similac/Enfamil..you did my baby good. (And helped a struggling mommy stay somewhat sane..somewhat:-)

    • Hi Julie! Long time no hear! Hope you’ve been doing well! I was just thinking of you a few days ago. Thank you for leaving a comment! 🙂 I got a huge number of hits on this post since yesterday, but no comments or Likes. 😦 Thank you for sharing that you and Easton were both bottle babies, and how healthy he has been and how well he has been developing! I can name so many thriving, healthy individuals brought up on formula. All these extremists these days are so mind boggling to me! You know what they say about doing things in moderation….it applies to ways of thinking as well! We know the benefits of breast milk, but saying that all moms can do it without any problems and absolutely must if they are to be good and responsible mothers is very damaging to the psyche of brand new moms who are already struggling with so many anxieties related to motherhood. You read about all these instances of moms who are absolutely determined, from the get-go, that they would breastfeed. Despite obstacles (some of the kind I mention in my post) and at great risk to her own health (you’d have to go over to read the posts over at Fearless Formula Feeder, esp. the latest one), some women will share the extreme lengths to which they will go in order to breastfeed…it’s sometimes at the risk of her own life! How did we get to this point? Mind boggling.

Leave a Reply

