Cognitive Behavioral Therapy for Women with PPD

Real quick post tonight, as I am feeling very exhausted, having had about 20 hours of sleep since Sunday, simply due to the fact that I can’t seem to get everything done in the time I have each day, so I end up staying up until after 1:00 am each day.Speaking of sleep, something that caught my attention on my Facebook news feed this morning was a post from Karen Kleiman over at her Postpartum Stress Center Facebook page.  Her post provided a link to a brief article titled “An Open Pilot of Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy for Insomnia in Women with Postpartum Depression.”  Karen Kleiman is the author of a number of books on the topic of PPD.

The article touches on the fact that Cognitive Behavioral Therapy, or CBT, has been shown to improve sleep for women experiencing insomnia as a symptom of postpartum depression (PPD).  CBT is something that I mentioned in prior posts that I had not tried, because I was not referred to anyone who specializes in CBT for women with PPD.  I mention in my book and in prior posts that I might have benefited from CBT.  Now I will never know whether CBT would’ve made a difference during my darkest days of PPD.

I encourage you to email Karen directly at kkleiman@postpartumstress.com (and put CBT in the subject line) if you have participated in any CBT program/therapy for PPD, as she is in the process of gathering information for another book, this time a CBT book for the perinatal population.  Your personal experience will be invaluable to her.  Please check out her blog post for more information about CBT and PPD.

Leave a Reply

