Happy Mother’s Day – 2013

spring2013I’ve written a Mother’s Day blog post each year since I started up this blog in 2009.  After a while, my posts from one year to the next start sounding the same.  I’ve blogged in the past about mompetitions, just as I have blogged about the fact that all too many mothers (i.e., one out of eight) are suffering from postpartum depression (PPD) but you wouldn’t necessarily know that because they can hide their suffering so well, feeling too ashamed to talk about it.  Or like me, they don’t even realize they are suffering from a postpartum mood disorder because the vast majority of our population is lacking in knowledge when it comes to mental health awareness–especially as it pertains to motherhood.  As I’ve mentioned countless times before, the public seems to keep on thinking that the birth of a baby can only be one way–i.e., a beautiful and joyful experience.

May is Maternal Mental Health Awareness Month, as most if not all of you know from reading my last post which is part of Postpartum Support International’s very first blog hop.  If you haven’t visited some of the blog hops posts from PSI’s 2013 blog hop, I recommend that you do so.  If you are experiencing PPD and feel alone…please know that you are far from it.  Take celebrity moms speaking up as an example.  These brave women have gone public with their experiences so that others would not follow in their footsteps in terms of feeling alone.  Now, if only these celebrities can get more involved with PPD advocacy.  We need more moms with a public platform speaking up and helping to combat stigma and spread awareness!

Now, for my Mother’s Day message:

For all the moms out there, remember self care
Is the single most important piece of advice I can give you.
If you are a brand new mom, just remember that
Without adequate rest and nutrition after childbirth
And with exhaustion and physical changes–
Not to mention sleep deprivation and getting up every couple of hours for feedings–
You are opening the door wider for PPD to sneak up on you.

If you are a mom with older children like me,
You may feel the way I now do about this Hallmark occasion.
No more do I need to eat at a fancy restaurant and receive a nice gift from the hubs.
Instead, I look forward to the simple pleasures of
Spending time with family and extended family.
Maybe even visiting a garden or two and take in the spring  flowers
Blooming all around us….nature can have a very calming effect.
I also look forward to just chilling because–
If you are a working mom like me–
You just want to do nothing, really, but relax and
Do something just for you and don’t normally have time for,
Like getting a pedicure or going shopping.

For all those who have a mom (or two) you care about
And will be celebrating Mother’s Day with her today,
Please remember (especially if this is a new mom) that the greatest gift
You can give her is emotional and practical support.
Don’t provide advice unless she asks you for it.
Do provide a shoulder to cry on if she’s having a rough day.
Do provide help so she can get the rest she needs
And/or time to do something just for herself.

Happy Mother’s Day to all the moms out there!

Here’s a wish from one mother to another!

xx

Sydney_me

3 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day – 2013

  1. Hi Ivy… I am volunteering for the Postpartum Resource Center of New York and I would like to speak to you about an upcoming event in New York City. How would I get intouch with you?Cheryl

Leave a Reply

