Who Will Catch Me? MotherWoman Perinatal Support Group Webinar: February 6, 2014

Quick post from me today.

I promised Liz Friedman, MotherWoman Program Director, that I would post information about their next webinar this coming Thursday, February 6th, at 3 pm EST.   Click here for details and to register.  If you are a postpartum depression (PPD) survivor and/or are simply interested in knowing how to help make a positive difference in the lives of mothers through a support model that has been proven successful and key to the recovery of moms suffering from PPD, please register today!

The webinar will be led by MotherWoman’s trainers Annette Cycon (Founder) and Liz Friedman, and hosted by Praeclarus Press and The Simkin Center at Bastyr University.

Click here on one of my prior blog posts about MotherWoman and its important mission.  Peer support–the kind of support that entails emotional and social support–is something I completely lacked during my own PPD journey and I am convinced would have made a HUGE difference for me.  I didn’t know where to find such support.  My OB and his staff’s lack of awareness regarding PPD and lack of bedside manner aggravated my condition because I thought I was suffering from some incurable illness.  They provided ZERO comfort.  Their coldness is something I will never forget.  My GP’s complete and utter lack of bedside manner–even though he prescribed the right combination of medicine that ultimately helped cure me–also aggravated my condition and is something I will never forget.  My symptoms occurred so suddenly and so severely that I had no choice but to seek medical help right away.  Even though I had medical help, the fact that NO ONE acknowledged my feelings or even understood them enough to comfort me is a sad reflection of the state of our current maternal mental healthcare system.

Postpartum Support International (PSI) and MotherWoman are two organizations which advocate and train individuals who are committed in their maternal mental health missions.  I urge you to join in the mission today and help ensure NO mothers fall through the cracks!

Leave a Reply

