My Blog’s 5th Birthaversary and Info on PSI Zumbathon Fundraiser

Some people call it a Blogoversary.  Some people call it a Blog Birthday.  The French say “Joyeaux Anniversaire” for Happy Birthday.   I don’t really care much what it’s called.  I just know that both Blogoversary and Blog Birthday hold the same meaning, and my blog has been around for 5 years!  Woohoo!!!  Actually, five years and one day, since the momentous occasion was yesterday.  But I was too tired to blog last night…..anyway, I’ll just compromise and call it a Birthaversary.  🙂

In these past 5 years, I’ve seen an increasing number of personal experiences with postpartum depression (PPD) posted on blogs, on Huffington Post, on online parenting magazines, etc.  Seeing these articles gives me hope that we are reaching more and more people about maternal mental health issues.

At the same time, however, there are still stories in the news of how we–despite being in 2014–are still failing our mothers all over the world.  Sometimes, I think that it’s willful ignorance that keeps people in the dark.  And like the UK  case I wrote about recently, misguided priorities and inadequate training are still leading to mothers falling through the cracks.

I want to implore all PPD survivors, PPD advocates and medical/mental health professionals to make a more concerted effort to:

ISL_020714

Work together
Remember that a healthy baby means a healthy mother
Really focus on the mother’s well-being
Break down silos
Encourage collaborative care
Support mothers and discourage mom-petitions
Embrace the fact that there is no one right way to mother
Ensure there is increased public awareness and research initiatives to improve early detection and treatment
Encourage a culture of sharing and banish stigma

Before I end this post, I would like to share information about an upcoming Postpartum Support International (PSI) zumbathon fundraiser being held in memory of Cynthia Wachtenheim, a mother whose life was tragically cut short last March.  All proceeds from the event will go to maternal mental health public awareness and support.  I am proud to be a member of PSI since 2006.  It is an organization that is very much at the forefront of all of the positive efforts above.

2 thoughts on “My Blog’s 5th Birthaversary and Info on PSI Zumbathon Fundraiser

  1. Congratulations Ivy! I’m going through ppi and your blog gives me hope. Could you tell me what dose of ambien you were on initially w the paxil and how you weaned off in 4 weeks? I.e. 10mg to 5 mg to none or cold turkey? Thank you! Keep it up!

    • Thanks, Darleen! I was on 10 mg of Ambien and that dosage was never decreased or increased during the few weeks I was on it for 2 weeks before I was prescribed 12.5 mg of Paxil and dosage was doubled after a week. I stayed on the 25 mg dosage for 6 months before my doc had me start weaning off the Paxil by halving the dosage and then taking every other day. The weaning process took about 7 more months. You should never go cold turkey off of an antidepressant. It took 4 weeks of being on the Paxil before it kicked in enough for me to stop taking Ambien and I started feeling like my old self again.

      When you say PPI, do you mean postpartum insomnia? How long ago did you have your baby, and how long have you been experiencing insomnia? Hope you will be back to your old self again soon! Let me know if you ever need to chat via email.

      Warmly,
      Ivy

Leave a Reply

