Life is One Gigantic Sandbox

Re-sharing an old post because something has been on my mind and I needed to get it off my chest….and wouldn’t you know, I wrote the post, coincidentally, about the same time last year…in the fall, as the leaves were turning with the approach of dreaded winter.  Click here to check out that post.

“It’s not just in a a work setting that people don’t play nice. Life is one gigantic sandbox with grown adults acting like children. This is where I remind myself that — no matter how nice you are, there will be those who don’t like you JUST BECAUSE….No reason….JUST BECAUSE. That’s when you need to have enough sense to keep in mind that IT’S THEM, NOT YOU. You’re not the one with the issue. They’re the one with some deep-rooted issue. Nothing you do will make a difference, and you know what? You shouldn’t have to. This phenomenon traverses all age groups, races, religions, political parties, etc. It’s a crying shame.”

ISL_someecard_them_not_you#gotnotimefordat #itsthemnotyou #lifeistooshort

4 thoughts on “Life is One Gigantic Sandbox

  1. Love your message and e-card (I looked at the other post too!) I recently had to block a toxic friendship on Facebook, and it sucked but I had to do it. The person seemed to “like” me (in part because she totally used me to vent about her life, and I let her vent – moreover I put myself in the “cheer her up” role, which was my fault) BUT she also harbored jealousy, passive-aggressiveness, & paranoid tendencies that she finally unleashed upon me in full freaky force.

    I’m SOOOOOOOOOO glad to be rid of what I can only describe as a draining, negative and unhealthy influence. It had become a total one-way street friendship, with her as the taker and me as the giver, and that’s not real friendship. (here’s the post about what happened with “X”)

    http://proudlybipolar.wordpress.com/2014/10/27/how-friends-humor-saved-the-day/

    I know that not everyone likes me and there’s nothing I can do about it & that’s fine because God knows I don’t want to be (and can’t be) friends with everyone!!! And from now on I’m going to be WAY more careful about anyone I befriend anywhere, either through the ‘net or in real life.

    • Sorry to hear about that former FB friend of yours, Diane. This is why I don’t have that wide of a circle on FB. For me to accept or offer an invite, the other person must be someone I know IRL and/or is someone who is like-minded. Life is too short as it is….you don’t need or deserve to have such negativity in your life. Good for you for taking control of the situation. Thanks for sharing the link to what happened and your lesson learned.

Leave a Reply

