Celebrating My 6th Blogiversary

Well, ladies (and perhaps some gentlemen), I’ve managed to keep my blog going for SIX years.  If you’ve been following my blog since the beginning, you might’ve noticed the gradual transition of my blog’s focus, tone and frequency.

But through it all, my intent has remained the same….to make sure that those who need the kind of support and reassurance that I couldn’t find and didn’t have access to during my postpartum depression (PPD) experience ten years ago can find my blog and feel a little less alone in their postpartum experience.

For the moms who are going through PPD with insomnia as an initial/primary symptom and are bewildered, like I was, as to why in the world I would not be able to fall asleep when I was so exhausted and recovering from a traumatic childbirth experience, hospital stay and blood loss.

For the moms who develop panic attacks and are bewildered, not understanding what is going on with them because they have never experienced panic attacks before.

For the moms who got pregnant after many years of trying through IVF, thinking all would be blissful once the baby arrives but instead are blindsided by the sudden onset of PPD.

These are the moms who are finding my blog.  Moms who longed to hold their babies in their arms the way they had envisioned they would but could not enjoy their first weeks with the baby because of the darkness of PPD that enveloped them.

I know I am still helping some moms. I know from the comments they leave. I know from the occasions a mom reaches out and asks me to email, text and/or call her.

I want you to be well and to get the right help as quickly as possible so you can.

For those who have been following my blog these past six years, thank you.

I hope to continue to come up with blog posts that people find in searches and that help make a difference in a mother’s (or father’s) life.

I have a few author interviews and other posts coming up.  Please stay tuned.

4 thoughts on “Celebrating My 6th Blogiversary

  1. Congrats Ivy. Couldn’t manage posting comment (*shakes fist at phone gods*)

    Now I just need to extend to you (an others!) the courtesy of consistently reading it (and others!). Which works out as now have ++2 months off work due to slight psychiatric collapse! I say slight, I had full on spiritual experiences ongoing so. Well I’ve had worse! ; ((. ; ))))))

    KGem (tweet me) x

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • Hi, oh no! I am so sorry to hear! How old are your children? I popped by your blog and see a 6 Feb 2012 date of an episode. But was that exactly 3 years ago? What is your Twitter handle? Warmly, Ivy

Leave a Reply

