A Sea of Pink Pussyhats at the Women’s March in Washington, DC

pussyhatI have a lot to say about the amazing experience I had with over 500,000 other women, men and children that participated in the Women’s March in DC last Saturday, January 21, 2017.  For now, I just wanted to post this one picture of the rally crowd (before the march started) outside of the Air & Space Museum.

airspace

I took this picture in the welcome space and tranquility of the museum (and after the welcome lady’s room break that I desperately sought for over an hour, struggling to get through the sea of people that were packed like sardines from the point I left my friends by the stage where the speakers were to the inside of the museum).  Several times, I imagined myself peeing myself and saying “Oh well, what choice did I have” and wishing I had not had the cup of coffee and sips of water up to that point in time. I also wished I had worn Depends.

In any event, it was an amazing experience, and I will write more later. This may not have had anything to do with postpartum depression, but I marched in solidarity with other women’s rights and women’s reproductive rights advocates, plus advocates of countless other groups….it wasn’t just a women’s march.  It became a march of the people for the people….a counter-movement, or #resistance of a nightmare regime that we pray will come to an end very shortly and not last the full four  years.

Leave a Reply

